Regardless of the situation, no matter how hopeless the outcome may be, I will never quit, and I will never back down. I have become the wolf.


We had our first official training for Therapy dogs Inc. and he passed with flying colors.

Took him to Saint Mary’s hospital and met with the trainers and another trainee.  First thing that happens is a very large man with a very,  large Shepard approach Oscar.  The man leans down and immediately puts his hands where no-one but the vet has ever gone.  Oscar just stood there and looked at me.  He didn’t jump, or shy away or snap.  Just stood there like it was his lot in life to be fondled by strangers in a public place.  Poor baby.  He checked Oscars ears and played with his feet, made him roll over for belly rubs.  He basically made up for the rude intro by playing with him.

We then went for a tour of the hospital.  We did four floors and Os was a champ.  You’d think he’s been doing this for years.  I have to pick him up (not his favorite thing) and hold him to get some pets from the patients.  The looks on some of their faces after sitting up and rubbing cheeks with Os and cuddling his face is incredible.  They smile and laugh and show interest.  One elderly lady went from a spitting bitch to a cooing baby talker when we walked in the room.  He now stinks of Shalimar, but he put the silliest grin on her face so it was worth it.  Everyone wanted me to put him in bed with them, but that is not allowed.  So I hold him and he’s double loved, held tight by me and fondled by strangers.  To his credit, nothing fazed him.  Carts lumbering by, gurney’s surrounded by people, wheel chairs, all sorts of people bending over him and reaching for him.  He strutted around that hospital like he owned the place.  By the time we left, most of the nurses knew him by sight if not by name.

We go back Friday for a second evaluation then wait a week for a third eval.  All by different evaluators.  Once he’s certified though, he will be welcome at most hospitals and nursing homes.  This will be so good for him, and for me.  It will force me to get out of the house and interact with people, and it will force him to abandon his skittishness and accept people will be good to him.

When we got home he was so happy, he ran from Joe to Mom and just grinned from ear to ear.  I think I need to pick up some sanitizing wipes for his poor little face for afterwards.  All those hands touching his face and ears.  Yep, need wipes.

Did you ever have the nagging feeling that you have an appointment scheduled, but can’t prove it.  I’m pretty sure, anxiety  wise, that I have a test on Friday.  Somewhere out there is a medical procedure with my name on it and I can’t for the life of me figure out what it is.    My CT and MRI are both on Monday, bloodwork is done, chemo not for two more weeks, been squished, been there too ladies.  I don’t know what it could be.  I hope they call first to confirm.  That would be a good thing.

Tomorrow, I take mom out for new shoes.  The ones she has weigh about 10 lbs, and while they are support shoes, she can barely lift her feet in them.  I get nervous taking her for walks, afraid she’ll trip over her own shoes.  I also have to make appointments for both Joe and Mom to get their flu, pnemonia, and whooping cough shots.  I hope the kids get them this year too, my RBC’s are way down and that’s not good going into fall.

Wow, it’s 5 am.  I think I’ll stroll back to bed now.

The shot did work.  Now I just have to be careful to not overdue it even though it feels better.

Comments on: "Oscar is such a champ, I’m so proud of him." (2)

  1. Anonymous said:

    Very good post. Don’t foget you were Happy too!

  2. Rowyn Capers said:

    I have such a big smile on my face, GO! Oscar!!!

    I hope you have Friday off. I get that way after a bunch of appts, I think I still have some.

    Be good to you.

    hugs and love
    namaste
    Rowyn

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

