Regardless of the situation, no matter how hopeless the outcome may be, I will never quit, and I will never back down. I have become the wolf.


Every third Tuesday I get to drive in for them to dump poison in my veins to counteract the farking little cancer bullies that are racing around kicking the shit out of my Red and white blood cells.  My last platelet count was down to 450.  Not so very good.  But I’m working on it.  Lots of red beats and green beans and red cabbage.

Made a really good dish in the crock pot the other day.  Joe has been eating it for days, and I haven’t had to cook.  Basically you drain a package of sauerkraut and rinse well with water.  Place kraut in a hot pan with melted butter to brown it a little.  Remove Kraut to the crock pot.  Cook down two packages of mushrooms and one med onion till just tender.  Mix it in with the kraut.  Open 2/3 cans of whole potatoes and toss those in there.  About a palm full of caraway seed and you are set.  Mix everything throughly, add a 1/2 cup of water and set aside.  Open a package of country ribs and rinse, pat dry.  Season with Mrs. Dash.  Heat oil in a pan till just sizzling.  Carefully place the ribs in the pan and brown them on each side.  When ribs are brown, put on top of the kraut mixture, cover and put in fridge overnight.

In the morning, slice 1-2 apples and spread them over the pork.  Put the crock pot on high for 4 hours then drop to low for another 3.  Do not lift cover.

The pork fell off the bone and the kraut was wonderful with the flavors of the mushrooms and caraway seed.  I think that cooking really great food is an art and I just haven’t been very artistic in the past few years.  But, spring is here.  DH is home and he is feeding me energy just by being home and doing his “guy stuff”.  I am noticing that my backyard things are slowly appearing from wherever they were stashed for the winter.  I need to start bring my own stuff up, but have to wait till the pool cover get’s removed.  My stuff get’s in the way of the big tarp.

I think I’ll make some flour tortillas for breakfast tomorrow.  A little chorizo and eggs and potatoes.  Make Joe happy.  Then tomorrow the church debate will continue.  Oh well, if life wasn’t a constant series of challenges we’d have a shitload of Homer Simpsons to deal with.

Think of me on Tuesday.

Comments on: "I can tell it’s getting to be Tuesday again" (3)

  1. I’m on a weekly schedule of Terrific Tuesdays for a while. Fun stuff. that recipe sounds amazing!

  2. I’ll think of you on Tuesday, you bet.

  3. your HB said:

    That recipe is amazing, I know I ate most of it and dreamt I ate the other portion. Thank you Love!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

