Regardless of the situation, no matter how hopeless the outcome may be, I will never quit, and I will never back down. I have become the wolf.


Since the cost of Internet usage aboard ship was .75 a minute, I thought it best to collect my thoughts on paper then fill you all in later.  So, without further ado….. our trip. (in short bursts)

December 31.

Got up super, super early to catch our flight to Orlando.  Everyone went smoothly till we got to the airport in Orlando and waited, and waited for our shuttle to Port Canaveral.  It was late and a bunch of us got stressed, but it all worked out in the end.

Going aboard is a little like meeting a grand lady who has come upon hard times.  She’s a bit tattered and torn around the edges, but still beautiful.  Our room is spacious with a big balcony on it.  Lots of room to sprawl out if you choose.  The ship left Port Canaveral at 2:00 pm and made for Nassau and the New Year.

Went for a light dinner in a cafeteria style restaurant (it’s the first day out, no judgement’s).  Walked around deck then went back and lay down for awhile.  Have just enough room for everything to be put away.  9:30 we went to Dazzles, the disco aboard ship and partied into 2012.  They had a pretty good 80’s hair band that did a lot of covers so got to dance quite a bit.  Didn’t drink much.  My legs and my stomach were warning me to watch myself.  Still I thought we rang it in right.

Happy New Year!!!

 

 

 

 

 

January 1.

Happy New Years everyone.

Stayed up way to late Sunday night for New Years and managed to miss most of Nassau.  Didn’t party too hard, just wore myself out dancing and hanging with some friends we made onboard ship.  The band in the disco rocked that night playing 80’s and 90’s music.  Had a couple Captain Morgans’ and cokes and rocked in the New Year right.

We did manage to go into Nassau for a couple of hours.

Beautiful Nassau

From what we saw, without taking a tour, it’s a very touristy town with more shops than Miami Beach.  Everywhere you turn are people trying to sell you tours for exorbitant prices.  We walked around for a bit, but my stomach was still rebelling and I ended up getting sick and having to rush back to the boat.  I feel bad for Joe sometimes.  I’m glad he has the patience and understanding to deal with me.  Most of the shops were closed.  Something I wish they would have shared with us.  It being a holiday and all.

I didn’t realize how cold and windy it was going to be onboard ship.  We are heading for St. Thomas USVI and I’m sitting on deck with jeans and a sweater.  Of course I look ridiculous with everyone else in swim suits, shorts and tanks.  But it’s the only way I can sit here comfortably.  Even the air conditioning seems extremely cold to me.  Still kinda sick from earlier.

Food is just OK, we’ve been to a couple of restraunts and the food is cafeteria quality at best.  This new freestyle dining is just a way to save money in the “open” dining rooms, and to charge a “surcharge” of 25 to 30 dollars per person for the finer restraunts on board.  Just not gonna pay extra for the quality I should be already receiving.  I do believe that this will be our last trip on Norwegian Cruise Lines.

Went to see comedian Bill Hildebrandt  in the “Stardust Ballroom”.  He was so funny.  But then, he’d really have to be.  Could you imagine?  Seven days on ship, your scheduled for the second night and the last night.  If you bomb on the second night, you have three thousand people on a boat who will heckle you mercilessly for the next six nights.  There is no-where to hide on board.  I like comedians who get the audience involved in the act and Bill is very good at it.

It’s late and we have an early day tomorrow.  Good night all.

Sunset Heading to St. Thomas.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

