Regardless of the situation, no matter how hopeless the outcome may be, I will never quit, and I will never back down. I have become the wolf.

Sometimes…


In the dark of the night, when the wind is blowing the window panes loose in the frames and you can almost hear the snow hitting the siding that I sit and remember how much I’m blessed.  I went through most of my life believing that I would end it alone.  I’ve never had children or made lasting ties with anyone.  My family has drifted off into their own little worlds and that’s OK.  I was one of those “tweener” kids, everyone was either five years older or five years younger than me.  The older kids wanted nothing to do with me so I got to babysit all the younger ones.  Resentment built, you know the story.

Anyway, Saturday night M & M and Joe and I went out to the Parthenon for dinner then to the Fox theatre to see the Cirque dreams Holidaze show.  Dinner was amazing.  I love sharing stories and hearing about their days.  Such incredible adults, I’m so proud of them and their thoughts and actions.  The show was amazing.  Such a dramatic sense overload of light, sound, movement, color.  So many things to watch at once.  I enjoyed myself so much. I thing the best part was sitting next to Mel for the first half of the show and just watching her face.  It was super fun.

So after sleeping in late Sunday morning (I’m allowed), Joe told me that C & L are bringing the kids over.  What a blessing.  I got baby cuddled and hugs and just seeing the changes in those two little bundles.  Lightened my heart and made me even more ready for the holidays.

To my delight Joe and I have just booked a cruise for two to the Bahamas for New Years Eve.  It’s those rays of sunshine that make my little world a brighter space.   I’m a lucky woman.  He just wants me to have some fun before I start chemo again.  It’s already Dec. 20th so the resume day is coming in quickly.

I’m looking forward to having a houseful of people for Christmas Eve, but I’m even more looking forward to be sailing to the Bahama’s on New Years Eve.  I started thinking today that in 20 plus years of being together, we have never gone out for New Years Eve.  Always have prefered to stay at home and relax.  Not have to worry about drivers and such.  This year I get the best of both worlds.  I get to go to a gala party onboard ship and no-one has to drive home.  I’ve never heard of a fatal crash on an elevator.  Maybe down a flight of stairs.  I even already have the perfect dress for it, and shoes.  I’m so ready to have a relaxing time on board with my husband.  He needs to find some good books to read.  I’m already trying to figure the weight limit on catalogs.  Either that or little scraps of yarn so I can continue to make my little Ami Characters.  I’m getting better at them so I might be ready to show them off shortly.

I’m off to face another day.  I think I get some torching done today.  Maybe some goddesses, it’s been awhile.

Blessing to all of you.

 

Comments on: "Sometimes…" (4)

  1. HB it is your wonderful spirit, strength and willingnees to share that sparks the lives of those around you. Like I been telling you. ” I love you,… alot”! The rest of us had a great time seeing you enjoy yourelf as well.

  2. Loves and hugs, Sweetie. I hope it’s your best new years party ever! 😮
    Pattybeads from LE

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

