Regardless of the situation, no matter how hopeless the outcome may be, I will never quit, and I will never back down. I have become the wolf.


After three nights and four days alone in my semi-private room I got a roommate.  What a sow.  They wheeled her in at 10:00 pm from another room because she requested a new room.  Apparently the nurses weren’t the correct ethnicity for her sorry ass.  Now she’s stuck in my room.  For the past three hours I’ve been bombarded with how terrible this hospital is and the food sucks and the TV sucks and the IV’s hurt.  I finally told her I had to sleep and rolled over.  At that point, 12:00, she picks up the phone to call everyone she knows, and in a loud booming voice, announces where she is and why.  Finally she decides to watch TV.  Of course the selections suck.  But that doesn’t stop her from running the channels 5-7 times while giving full discourse on what is on each channel.  It’s now 2:00 and she’s opening a bag of chips and a soda.  Christ, keep me from strangling this woman during the night.  If she snores, Heaven help her.

Off to try to get some sleep.  Nite all.

Comments on: "I’m totally in hell" (3)

  1. Harriet Harrison said:

    Brenda, I’m a retired RN. You need a quiet and a stressless environment. Please have one of your family members talk with the head nurse about being selective about your roomates. If a doctor writes an order for a private room they have to block a semi private for you. Being on chemo puts you at risk for catching “germs” from others, not to mention your need for peace and quiet with as few stresses as possible. Whoever though semi private rooms was a good idea should have to live in one for 3 months with a variety of horrible roomies. Appeal to the the kindest nurse you know on the floor. You have a right to an environment that promotes healing, Demand it if necessary. I wish I worked there so I could make it happen. Thinking and praying for you.
    Harriet

  2. I hope that you found some rest.

  3. Brenda, I completely agree with Harriet. I bet you’d be better off in the room they moved that woman out of – and being on chemo you do have to be extra careful about infections. Hope you get/got some rest.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

