Regardless of the situation, no matter how hopeless the outcome may be, I will never quit, and I will never back down. I have become the wolf.


To my dear Uncle Del.  He will be so missed.  A big, booming, German with a love for gardening and playing poker.  You always told me that “all but the last two are easy”.  Kinda glad you only had one “hard”.  I can’t even begin to think what my aunt is going through.  Imagine waking up in the bed you’ve gone slept with your husband in for 60+ years to find him gone.  And you’re alone.  And it’s 4:00 am.  And you’re alone.  After 60+ years.  I so can’t wrap my head around it. 

Travel well Unk. 

(p.s.  Those footprints on the ceiling 40 some years ago, they were mine.  I know you knew, but thanks for never letting on)

Comments on: "Said good-bye today…" (1)

  1. jOSEPH gILLEN said:

    Brenda,
    your Uncle Delore was a great man. They seem to be far and few between. Anyway I am sure he is busy now planting walnut trees for you know who! We should trip out to see your aunt more often and maybe even invite your mother. Did I type that? Eleanor would enjoy your company , maybe take her some of your (my) home made bread. No euchre though or we will never leave the house.

    ps. I have a stash of his walnuts.

    love HB

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

